Setting up our Apartment!

Walking into our apartment here in Napaskiak for the first time I was relieved to see that our boxes that we had been shipping over the summer had already been delivered from the post office; I had not been looking forward to carrying the 15 or so 60lb totes across the village and then up a flight of stairs. It had been hard enough getting them to the post office on the East Coast with the help of a hand truck and my car. Going through the inventory I had on my computer we saw that we were only missing a few things: The TV we shipped as an oversize item, a tube of posters for Nathan’s classroom, and our four food totes that were on their way from Anchorage. The arrival date that printed on the receipt for the food totes was Wednesday the 8th (the same day we were to arrive there in Napaskiak) but everything out here is subject to weather and other factors so dates are flexible and only estimates. Fortunately our flat rate boxes with all of our canned goods were sitting in our kitchen and we had our fresh groceries from Bethel, so we were far from starving, but rather lacking the staples like flour, sugar, powdered eggs and shelf stabilized milk that we had purchased in bulk back in Anchorage.

After talking a bit with some of the other teachers who had already moved in before new teacher orientation in Bethel, we returned to our apartment and I began to immediately take things out of the totes as Nathan went around with my Leatherman multitool breaking all but one of my color coded zip ties on each tote. That way I could still identify them on my master shipping list, but get into them as well.

In the first day after arriving I got most of our items put away, and it started to feel like home. I had packed a lot of pictures and decorative items that I felt would make our new apartment feel more personal. That fact outweighed the cost of shipping what some may have considered superfluous items. I wanted to create a home that we would want to live in for multiple years.

Although I’m still looking for permanent places for some things and will probably be moving stuff around for a couple of weeks, the hardest part is over. Now, enjoy some pictures of the apartment!

As you walk in, here is the living room.

As you walk in, here is the living room.


And our dining room- Nathan hard at work doing some lesson plans!

And our dining room- Nathan hard at work doing some lesson plans!


The Kitchen! A little messy, but I was unpacking still!

The Kitchen! A little messy, but I was unpacking still!


Our cozy bedroom

Our cozy bedroom


Nice big closets! Now I wish I had brought more hangers!

Nice big closets! Now I wish I had brought more hangers!


Our second bedroom where I am organizing things currently. We hope to get a desk, and maybe someday it will be a nursery!

Our second bedroom where I am organizing things currently. We hope to get a desk, and maybe someday it will be a nursery!


Most excitingly- a large chest freezer in our storage room!

Most excitingly- a large chest freezer in our storage room!

Thanks for reading- bear with me as I deal with internet and power issues here, and I will keep updating the blog as much as possible!

Have something to say? Write it here!

