Frosty Mornings

Frost covering the playground at the school.

Frost covering the playground at the school.

While everyone on my Facebook news feed is posting pictures of the amazing fall foliage back home, I am dealing with Frost. Every morning now. Until just before noon. I had a dream the other night that I woke up to a foot of snow outside… and it was so realistic that I had to take a second look out the window when I really did wake up!

It's cold! And it's only October!

It’s cold! And it’s only October!

You might notice that I’m a little unhappy about this. Autumn has always been my favorite season, and here I feel that it has been skipped! We started school mid August and while it wasn’t hot summer weather it still didn’t feel like fall to me. Maybe it was due to the lack of jack-o-lanterns, apple cider and leaves changing colors. Or maybe it’s just because my brain was so confused with all of the rapid changes. Whatever the reason, I now find myself bundling up for each voyage outside, and have officially retired my ‘fall coat’ and have moved on to my traditional East Coast Winter Jacket. I do have a Parka for when temperatures dip some more out here, but it just feels too early in the year to have to don my scarf, mittens, hat and coat just to take the dog out in the morning. She sure is impatient with the whole process!

I figured I would have to take some pictures on my walk to the post office the other day- it was 11:30 and there was still an abundance of frost! So enjoy the fall weather wherever you are- it will be gone soon!

Frost still clinging to the side of the boardwalk.

Frost still clinging to the side of the boardwalk.

IMG_20141002_113649842

Have something to say? Write it here!

