DIY Laundry Detergent Powder

Laundry Soap

I used to be the type of person who just grabbed whatever the cheapest cleaning supplies and laundry detergents at the store. When I learned that the village we were moving to in Alaska didn’t have a traditional grocery store, and that the nearest dollar store was in Anchorage over 400 miles away I admit that I panicked. I didn’t know what I would do. But then I jumped on over to Pinterest and found a plethora of different DIY recipes for cleaning supplies.

Specifically, I found this really great laundry detergent powder recipe from the Liz Marie Blog. It was all dry ingredients that I could ship in and supposedly lasted a year! It was the perfect solution. With a little work, I wouldn’t have to worry about paying over $20 for a bottle of liquid detergent several times a year.

I made only two small changes to Liz Marie’s formula. I could not find the fels-naptha laundry soap bars, and ended up with some pretty fabulous bright pink Zote Soap and it has worked great! I also decided to forego any scented crystals. The formula is as follows:

1. Three bars of Laundry soap. I used the pink Zote Soap.
2. One four pound, twelve ounce box of Borax.
3. One four pound box of arm & hammer baking soda.
4. One box of arm & hammer super washing soda. (Large box- one size only)
5. Four pounds of Oxy Clean.

Grate the bars of laundry soap (careful not to cut yourself- I scraped myself on the grater a couple times!) and then mix all of the ingredients. I used a really large trash bag so that I could mix it well. It is very heavy and difficult to mix in a container.

After everything was mixed I put it in a container with an airtight seal to keep out moisture. About half of my mix fit into the jar, and I clipped the trash bag closed and I stored it in a small trashcan.

I did my shopping at Sam’s Club in Anchorage, and was able to find all the ingredients in bulk. In fact, the box of Oxy Clean was even more than four pounds, so I have extra left over.

Laundry Soap2

Six months later of using the soap I still have just over half left. Each load I use half a scoop (I got the scoop from the large Oxi-Clean box.) I have a frontloading HE machine and it works fine. Once or twice I found a sliver of undissolved soap, but 99% of the time it has dissolved completely and cleans great. I’m very happy with it. It is great on my sensitive skin, and I plan to make more next year when this runs out.

Have you tried a DIY Laundry Powder? What about other cleaning supplies? How did you like it? Let me know in the comments below!

One thought on “DIY Laundry Detergent Powder

Have something to say? Write it here!

