Awesome Sauce

tomato-paste

Moving to Alaska has changed my life so drastically. In some ways the changes are huge- in terms of what I do for a living, how I view the world, etc. And other ways are very small. Like how I look at tomato sauce. Pre-Alaska Liz would just grab a jar of whatever was cheapest off the shelf at the grocery store, as long as it wasn’t Ragu or mushroom flavored, and move on without another thought. Post-Alaska Liz looks at the cost of shipping for liquids and has to think of another solution.

I realized that I had brought some cans of tomato paste with me when moving. Why, I wasn’t quite sure… I don’t think I had ever used it before, but it was part of the staples I shipped up in the late summer. Tomato sauce is really just paste and water right? I guess there are some spices too. It couldn’t be that hard to make yourself right?

It took me several tries, but I seem to have landed on a recipe that I really like. I didn’t look anything up online, I just took what I like personally and went with it. I hope you like it!

Liz’s Awesome Tomato Sauce

1 6oz can of Tomato Paste
1 6oz can of warm water
1 TBSP Onion Powder
1.5 TBSP Garlic Salt
1 TBSP Dried Oregano
4 tsp Sugar

In a small bowl, combine all ingredients, mixing well. You can add or subtract spices or change quantities to taste. I don’t usually use strict measures when cooking like this- you get a feel for the right amount by how it looks. I estimated my usage above- feel free to experiment! The sugar really is the secret though- you don’t need a lot, but it cuts the acidity of the tomato paste, and changes the whole flavor of the sauce.

I hope you enjoy the sauce as much as I do! If you try the recipe, please let me know in the comments- what did you change? I can’t wait to hear from you!

Have something to say? Write it here!

