Home Inventory

I was inspired today when reading a blog post from the awesome Cunningham Family in Bush Alaska Blog. That family has been living in the bush for several years and I am an avid reader, always hoping to glean tips from them! Today she talked about taking an inventory of household items so that they knew what they would need after summer break. I had not thought of that, but it is brilliant! There is no way that I’m going to remember what I have in my pantry here after two months away.

So I quickly flipped over to google and tried to find a good template. Unfortunately, although I found many beautiful templates, none of them were exactly what I was looking for. Fortunately, I know my way around Excel, so I hunkered down and started formatting what I would need. All of my stage management skills are paying off on this one!

Inventory start

This is the start of my home inventory. Over the next couple months I will be filling out each section. What you can’t see are my sections for Office Supplies, Pet Care, and the ever-important Misc section for the things that don’t fit elsewhere! I’m confident that this will help so much when planning our Bush Orders and shopping trips in Anchorage in August. I even put a column for how many we will need to buy, so half of my shopping list will be done before I ever have to worry about it.

I would be happy to share my completed template with anyone else who needs one. You can find the file on dropbox for download here. To add more rows in any section simply click in the section you want to add to Click HOME > INSERT > INSERT SHEET ROWS as many times as you need.

I hope you enjoyed the inventory! Have you ever done a home inventory before? How did you organize it? Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!

3 thoughts on “Home Inventory

  1. I’m so happy to have offered some helpful advice to you, but you have taken my inventory idea & upped it a notch! I love the official list! I just stand in front of my pantry, linen closet or deep freezer with a notepad and pen, writing down what I will need to replenish while shopping for my bush order in Anchorage in August. You are amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahaha, I used to be a stage manager in the theatre, and I would make lists like this for all the props in a play, so once I got started I couldn’t help myself! I really love color-coding and organization! You inspired a great day with Excel! 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: Year Three Alaska | There's No Place Like Napaskiak

Have something to say? Write it here!

