Flat Stanley Visits Napaskiak

When my cousin contacted me about a week ago about her son’s school project I was super excited. They had read the book Flat Stanley in class (it’s all about a boy who gets squished flat, and then mails himself around so he can travel) and they were sending out their own Stanleys. She asked if I would be willing to take some pictures, and I immediately agreed. I had read the book myself in Elementary school, but never participated in a project like this. The students are going to be sharing and mapping where their Stanleys go, so it will be cool to have Alaska represented.

Check out our tour of the village with Stanley:

IMG_20160313_163201450

Looking out at the frozen Kuskokwim River

IMG_20160313_164022344.jpg

Checking out the fish drying

IMG_20160313_162703268.jpg

Bush Planes are cool!

IMG_20160313_165056802.jpg

At the School

IMG_20160313_165050939

More Alaskan Handicrafts at the School

Next up, Stanley is headed to my sister in Florida- hopefully he will warm up a little bit, and maybe even see a beach. It will be a good vacation after the frozen tundra I think!

Have something to say? Write it here!

